Skip to content Skip to navigation

About Us

In  accordance with the Mandate given by the Synod of  Church of  South India  in Jan. 1970 and in    consonance with the “Scheme of Division” of the former Mysore Diocese, the Karnataka Northern Diocese has emerged as one of the three dioceses of the C.S.I. in Karnataka on 1st May 1971. The  churches   belonging to different  traditions  namely  Basel Evangelical  Mission, London Mission,  Wesleyan   Methodist Mission, SPG  Mission   came under the  umbrella  of  Karnataka Northern Diocese.

The Karnataka Northern diocese encompasses  eleven  revenue Districts of  Karnakaka  namely:  Dharwad, Bellary, Bijapur, Chitradurga, Shivmogga,  Haveri, Gadag, Koppal, Bagalkot, Davanagere,   parts of Uttara  Kannada  and   a few  areas  of Kurnool  district  in  Andhra Pradesh.

The  whole  region has a  wide  variety of   landscapes -  mountain terrain  on the  one hand  the  extensively  dry  land on the other. The  rivers  like  Tungabhadra , Kali, Bhima, and  other rivers  have  become  life  sustaining  ones  for these  districts. This  region is largely covered  with  rich  black  cotton soil . Hinduism  is the major  religion ;  Islam is  a  minority.   Christianity constitutes  a miniscule   minority faith. Kannada  being  the  major  language  spoken,  besides  Telugu, Tamil, Urdu and  Malayalam.  Ragi,  jowar,  rice  sugarcane,  coconut,  groundnuts and cotton are the  major crops  grown  here. Iron ore and  manganese  are  available  in large  quantities.     

For the smooth  functioning  and   administration  of the  diocese, it is  divided  into  four  areas namely -  Bellary Area, Shimoga Area, North Karnataka Anglican Area, and North Karnataka Area-  and  each  area  has its own Area Chairman elected  for two years.

Some Facts and Figures :

  • No. of Presbyters/ Deacons/ Bible women : 72
  • No. Officestaff:  10
  • No. of Boarding Homes / Hostels / Orphanages / Day Care Centre: 16
  • No. of Hospital: 1